An Interview With Anna Michels!

First of all, thank you so much for agreeing to do this interview! You are releasing your debut novel ’26 Kisses ‘ soon. Could you tell us a little about it?
Of course, thanks for having me! 26 Kisses is the story of one girl who decides to take control of a bad situation and makes some mistakes but has a lot of fun in the process. When Veda’s longtime boyfriend dumps her unexpectedly, she decides to move on and up by taking on the ultimate summer romance challenge–kissing one boy for every letter of the alphabet. There are a lot of boys (and a lot of kissing!) in the book, and my favorite part of writing it was dreaming up these insanely awesome kissing scenes.

Sounds amazing! I can’t wait to get my hands on it! How did you come about the idea for this book?
The idea was inspired by a real life story–not my own life, but a friend’s 🙂
Great inspiration! Such an interesting friend to have! Can you give us some insight into your main character? Does she relate to you in any way?
Veda and I don’t have too much in common on the surface–I would never have the guts to take on that kind of challenge! But her lack of a car and her shaky relationship with her father are things I have experienced.
It’ll be great to see your inspiration in the book! I don’t think I would have the guts to take on this challenge either! What would you say was the hardest thing about writing- especially as this is your first YA novel?
The hardest thing for me is finding the time to write. My day job demands a lot of time and creative energy, so I generally have to get up early or stay up late to squeeze in an hour or two of writing each day.
That sounds like me with my homework! But don’t tell anyone that… I have literally no time left in my day! Why do you write?
I love creating the world, characters, and events of a book. After it’s written, it almost feels like these things really happened and that the characters really exist, but it all came out of my head. Pretty cool!
That is cool! Must be really awesome to have created such a scandalous story! Would you say you are more of a reader or a writer? Or are you both?!
I’m actually more of an editor! My day job is in editing, and my favorite part of the writing process is revision and making everything come together just right. But I was a reader before I was a writer or an editor, and reading is still my favorite free time activity.
Reading is definitely my favourite activity too! Editing must be such a great job! I don’t want to take up too much of your time so here’s one last question; do you have any tips for aspiring young writers?
My number one tip is to read! Read everything, and read a lot of it. And my number two tip is to write, write a lot, and let yourself get goofy with it. I still have some short stories I wrote in middle school that are totally off the wall (one is about an evil woman named Senorita Futon) that crack me up whenever I run across them. I feel like I’ll never have that kind of wacky creativity again and I wish I had done more with it before I got old and boring.
Thank you so much to Anna Michels for agreeing to this interview! Her debut YA novel 26 Kisses is being released on the 26th of May!
Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

Leave a Reply

