Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa Review (No Spoilers)

Thank you so much Pan Macmillan Publishers for sending me a press release copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Title: Fans of the Impossible Life

Author: Kate Scelsa

Genre: Yound Adult, LGBT, Contemporary.

Pages: 336

Release Date: September 8 2015

My Rating: 4.5/5

A girl, her gay best friend, and the boy who’s in love with both of them.
Fans of the Impossible Life is the story of love, loss, growing up and the magic – and terror – of finding friends who truly see the person you are and the person you’re trying to become. It’s a story about rituals and love, and of those transformative friendships that burn hot and change you, but might not last.
SEBBY seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and his best friend Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.
MIRA is starting over at St. Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.
JEREMY is the painfully shy art nerd at St. Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting him.
As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

The overall premise of this book, I have to say, confused me no end. Before I started this book, I thought I would have trouble remembering which character was which and how I would distinguish each from each other. I also thought that there wasn’t anywhere to go… From the blurb I thought that a really interesting setting had been made but there was no situation to throw at the characters that had been so delicately crafted.

I have never been happier to be wrong. As soon as I opened the book, I found myself hooked on the story and the characters. The characters were definitely the most interesting element of the whole story- I loved each and every one of them individually and together in different ways because they were just so diverse!

So, you’ve got your goody-goody nerd Jeremy who is so shy because of an event that happened at his school resulting in him being bullied. At the beginning of the book he is unsure about his sexuality but with two dads taking care of him, he knows that he will be respected whichever way he decides to go.

Then you have Mira. A depressed, lonely girl who finds light in the form of her best friend Sebby. With a strict parental structure at home, Mira finds her parents constant praise for her elder sister a real annoyance as her family make it quite clear they believe she’s odd. Mira is a very interesting character and she is more complex than you realise at first glance. When you think you know everything about Mira- think again.

And finally, you have the beautiful Sebby who is outright gay and leader of a seemingly simple life. However, Sebby has so many secrets that you begin to wonder how he goes around with such a happy attitude. Sebby would probably be my favourite of the three if I really had to pick because he is the reason that this book stands out against so many other YA contemporaries. He is strong and yet weak the same time and the little strength he possesses, he only projects while he’s around the people who he believes need it more than him.

When the three main characters are together, their lives are so different from when they are apart and I really appreciated having both sides of their stories. Particularly with Sebby, you begin to realise, as you go further through the story, that you really don’t know a thing about their past and it’s a really emotional moment when you find out how they came to be the way they are. The plot line is, at times, a bit random, but I think that really encapsulates how broken and fragile everyone is- giving them the excuse that they should live for the moment. This book really shows the characters emotions in the harshest lights possible and Kate Scelsa really isn’t afraid to throw rocks at her characters- like really big boulders, huge huge rocks!

The writing was simple yet perfectly suited to the tone of the book and made me feel for the characters and really connect with them- particularly in tough situations. This book had me laughing out loud through the most of it and then, by the end, I was sobbing unexpectedly because I hadn’t realised how deeply I connected with the characters. I really visualised everything well and there was never a moment where I was confused or wondering where something had come from or who something was. Judging what I just said, you could say that this book is easy reading, and at times it really does feel like it, but when it gets to the times when taboo subjects are mentioned- you realise how wonderfully clever this book is to make such and awkward topic so fun and light-hearted (for the most part) to read about!

I highly, highly recommend Fans of the Impossible Life to anyone interested in contemporaries and anyone who is looking for something a bit different. You will not be disappointed. A real laugh-out-loud, tear-jerker this one! What a journey!

Goodreads link- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25965908-fans-of-the-impossible-life

Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

Leave a Reply

