Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan Review (No Spoilers)

Apple and Rain

When Apple’s mother returns after eleven years of absence, Apple feels whole again. She will have an answer to her burning question – why did you go? And she will have someone who understands what it means to be a teenager – unlike Nana. But just like the stormy Christmas Eve when she left, her mother’s homecoming is bitter sweet, and Apple wonders who is really looking after whom. It’s only when Apple meets someone more lost than she is, that she begins to see things as they really are.

Like a brilliant hybrid of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson, Sarah Crossan entices you into her world, then tells a moving, perceptive and beautifully crafted story which has the power to make you laugh and cry.

This is another book on this year’s Carnegie shortlist.

This is probably one of the hardest reviews I’ve ever had to write, because despite the fact that this book blew me away, there is not much that I can really say without giving too much away. I will try to explain this a bit better but just take my word for it. This book is amazing.

Okay, where do I start? Let’s start with writing style. The way in which Sarah Crossan writes is so beautiful, especially when she incorporates poetry so fluidly into the plot line. Argh, see I’m already mentioning plot line in the first sentence and it’s so difficult to talk about one aspect because all of these sections come together so beautifully and they create such an enthralling storyline.

Either I’m really stupid or the plot of this story was not too predictable. I mean, I wasn’t outwardly gasping at any small plot reveals but I wasn’t predicting the story in my head. I enjoyed just enjoying the story. Also, I found the plot to be incredibly gripping and I could not put it down and I managed to read the majority of this book in one sitting and then the rest the same day. I absolutely loved the settings of the book and how they contrasted with each other (obviously I can’t go into detail because of spoilery reasons). Another thing I loved about the plot was how it wasn’t repetitive in the slightest despite the fact the we know the life that the characters lead is sometimes very repetitive.

The characters were probably my favourite thing ever about this book. I mean, I close the cover after I’d finished it and immediately I wanted to start the whole thing again and jump back into the world and be with the characters again. I think my favourite of the characters would definitely have to be Del, honestly if he was real we’d be best friends because I just love him so much. His personality is so kooky and weird that he’s not your typical boy but he is certainly special. He has such a kind heart and his attitude towards Apple is so adorable. His character makes me so happy and he is so unpredictable. Another character I really loved was Apple’s English teacher, he was so inspiring and he really gave this book a new dimension.

All in all, I found this book a really enjoyable read which didn’t take anything out of me but gave me a lot to think about. Highly enjoyable, I definitely recommend it. I gave it a 5/5 stars.

Thank you so much for reading this I will have another blog post up very soon so keep an eye out for it! All of my social media links are down below, including the Goodreads link so go and check those out! Thank you so much!

Talk to y’all later!

Apple and Rain Goodreads-https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22171851-apple-and-rain

My Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/38362004-caitlin

Twitter- @proudfangirl100

Instagram- _proudfangirl_

 

Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

Leave a Reply

