The Rain by Virginia Bergin Review (No Spoilers)

 
JUST ONE DROP WILL KILL YOU

I will try to be honest and tell everything as it was, but I will not swear, because my mum hated swearing. I hope you’ll understand. I’ll write something beautiful instead. I’ll write Butterfly. For my mum.

Everything is Butterfly. The whole world is Butterfly, because there’s something in the rain that kills you if you get just one drop on your skin. I’ve survived this long – I don’t know how. I’ve got really good at watching the sky.

And the worst thing? I’m stuck with someone I wouldn’t kiss if he was the last boy on earth.

Which he kind of is.

Butterfly. Butterfly. Butterfly.

Okay guys, just as a disclaimer, where there are spaces there is meant to be a cute little butterfly. I have no idea how to get that butterfly and I’m not going to insult Virginia Bergin by trying to source one… But if you go on her website you’ll see what I mean, here’s the link:

http://virginiabergin.com
Okay, I actually read this book a while before I started blogging but so many exciting things are happening regarding this duology and I thought I would review the first book for you so you can be persuaded to buy this amazing book!

Like I always do, let’s start with a cover review. This cover is so, so beautiful! It really relates to the story and I love the colours and just everything about this cover is fabulous. It’s my favourite….

Now let’s talk about the actual book..

The plot for this book is so vividly thought out and it tricks you into thinking that this is just some story about a stupid girl who makes stupid decisions. But it’s not. This story has so many twists and turns that catch you off guard and they are all driven by the characters and their sometimes stupid decisions. The storyline is so detailed and fluid that I had trouble putting it down because I was whisked away into this intriguing world of post-apocalyptic madness. The world building is done in such a clever way because you can visualise everything so clearly but there isn’t and extensive amount of description. The balance is perfect. I think Virginia Bergin did a fantastic job of making an empty post-apocalyptic world seem full of excitement and mystery.

The characters…

The characters of this book are probably the most interesting characters I’ve ever read about and right now I miss them. I wish there was another book I could sink my teeth into just to relive the amazing characters in this book. The main character Ruby is so witty and funny and smart and her perspective gives such a refreshing take on young adult literature. Her attitude is snarky and irrational but that is only because she’s frightened- and who wouldn’t be in a world where the rain can kill you? Her decisions are based purely on what she wants to do regardless of what anyone else thinks and this gives her the edge above everyone else. Another character I absolutely adored was Darius. I think I loved him so much I could put him on my fictional boyfriend list. His ideas and attitude is so different to Ruby’s that they clash in a great way. They bounce off each other and despite the fact that they are so different, they are so compatible and are driven by exactly the same motives. I love the way Ruby talks about him too, and the way her opinions subtley change throughout the book- that was fantastic and very funny to read.

In case you didn’t know, I loved this book. 5 out of 5 stars 100%. This is one of my favourite books, it was amazing and if you think this sounds good, you should check out the sequel- The Storm. It is absolutely amazing and in my opinion, better. Keep your eyes peeled for some exciting posts about this coming really really soon! Hope you guys enjoyed this review- if there are any other books you would like me to review just let me know in the comments down below. All my social media links are down below so go and check those out along with the Goodreads link for this book! Thank you guys so much for reading this!

Talk to you soon!

The Rain Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21116887-the-rain

My Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/38362004-caitlin

Twitter- @proudfangirl100

Instagram- _proudfangirl_

Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

1 thought on “The Rain by Virginia Bergin Review (No Spoilers)”

Leave a Reply

