The Territory by Sarah Govett Review (No Spoilers)

The territory cover

5th June 2059

Noa Blake is just another normal 15 year old with exams looming. Except in the The Territory normal isn’t normal. The richest children have a node on the back of their necks and can download information, bypassing the need to study.

In a flooded world of dwindling resources, Noa and the other ‘Norms’ have their work cut out even to compete. And competing is everything- because anybody who fails the exams will be shipped off to the Wetlands, which means a life of misery, if not certain death.

But how to focus when your heart is being torn in two directions at once?

Once again, let’s start with the cover. I love this cover, I love the colours, the title, the meaning. Usually you’ll get a cover with a face or a girl- usually a girl- and it will have no significance to the story inside. But this cover bears so much resemblance to the story inside. I don’t want to say too much otherwise I’ll spoil the story and we don’t want that.

Anyway, enough of covers, I feel like my reviews all start with the same thing about covers. Maybe I need to read a book with bad cover. Then you’ll see what I have to say about that.

Just as a little side note, I am 15 years old and- like Noa- I also have exams looming. I’ve been reading way too much and not revising- I should fix that. This book has been relatable but terrifying at the same time. I found myself wanting to put the book down so I could revise but, at the same time, fighting with myself because this book was so good!

Sorry, I should’ve mentioned at the beginning what I thought about this book! Well I’m mentioning it now! This book was absolutely fantastic, completely captivating, utterly enthralling. Okay maybe I went a bit overboard then but honestly this book is amazing! I have never managed to read a book in a day but with this I read it straight through in one day and I am so proud of myself! I was up all night crying my eyes out over the ending which is the reason I didn’t post a review sooner…

When I started reading this book I didn’t think much of it and I was afraid I would have to post a negative review but honestly I have never been so happy to be proved wrong! The way Sarah Govett writes is so so unique! Her writing style keeps you captivated with what you think is a predictable storyline and then it just whisks you off and plays with your emotions. Honestly guys the feels were raw with this book, it literally left me sobbing and rolling around on the floor like a little baby. I have never been so affected by a book before…

I think the characters were my favourite part of the story. Each one was so different and they were all developed so well. Noa, for example, she was developed so well but I found some of her decisions so stupid and I was sat there screaming at my book because of her actions. I was so tempted to throw my book across the room and I would’ve except I love this book so so much! Another part of the reason I got angry at this book (in a good way) was Raf. I don’t want to say too much because of spoilers but honestly? I hated him. But I think Sarah Govett wanted us to hate him. I can just sense something is up with him. All I’m saying is I love Jack and Noa. End of story. Let’s talk about Daisy. Wow, she was a beautiful character. I loved how different all three of the friends are and that really just gave the story a lot more depth. Daisy was my favourite character after Jack.

Okay, let’s wrap things up! I loved this whole story, every single part of it was thought out so well and the storyline had such a great fluidity and the plot-twists were insane, they caught me off guard. I actually had to put the book down for a full minute to be able to comprehend how big the plot twists were. I loved every second of this book it was phenomenal. It left my crying and speechless and terrified for my exams. So, thank you Sarah Govett for making me believe I will die if I fail my exams. I cannot wait for the sequel, I can guarantee it will be incredible!

This is the first new book in a brand-new dystopian trilogy that comes out on the 14th of May, so go and pre-order it now!

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed my review! I will be back really soon for another post! Leave any suggestions for anything you’d like to see in the comments box down below! All my social media links are down below along with the Goodreads link for this book!

Talk to y’all later!

The Territory Goodreads-https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24644285-the-territory?from_search=true&search_version=service

My Goodreads-https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/38362004-caitlin

Twitter- @proudfangirl100

Instagram- _proudfangirl_

Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

1 thought on “The Territory by Sarah Govett Review (No Spoilers)”

Leave a Reply

