Reading Slumps!

Hey guys,

I’m back and I have just been through the worst reading slump ever! Seriously, I mean I haven’t done any reading for the past week!

Feeling guilty…

However, I think I have stepped out of the shadows and I am now in a position to tell you guys about my experience and some tips I have learned on How To Get Out Of  A Reading Slump!

(yes, the capital letters are necessary…)

Okay, so if you guys have been following me on Instagram- link down below- you will have seen that I was super super excited for the release of Half Wild, the second book in the Half Life trilogy by Sally Green. I pre-ordered it and everything so it was like a big deal!

Anyway, I did the usual fangirl thing of screaming and jumping around the kitchen with my book that I had been highly anticipating… And do you know where it went after that?

Straight onto my bookshelf.

Yeah. I told myself that I would just finish the book I was reading and then immerse myself back into this incredible world with an installment that was ‘hot off the press’.

Yeah.. I didn’t work out like that… I read an entire trilogy and caught up on a new one before coming back to this book I vowed to read.

So I decided to pick it up!

And the majority of the excitement was gone. I had waited far far too long to read this book and I had already read four books about magic prior to it. I was not in the mindset for another.

I tried and tried and tried to get through this book because it was so good and it seemed like an amazing sequel to Half Bad! But everyday I read less and less.

By the time I reached the halfway point I decided to put it down. I did not want to spoil an amazing sequel by pushing myself through it. I will give it a re-read.

Okay, here’s where the tips come in:

-Put down that book!

It doesn’t matter if the book is fantastic or not! You do not want to force yourself through a book you might otherwise have really enjoyed. It is just not worth it. Save the plot-twists and cliff-hangers for a time when you are really in the right mindset to enjoy it! You will come back to it, just like I will soon come back to Half Wild!

-Pick up that silly little contemporary you didn’t want to earlier because you would’ve been judged reading!

Trust me, it works! I picked up The DUFF by Kody Keplinger this morning and it pulled me right out of that reading slump so therefore I really recommend it as a book to get you out of a reading slump!

If you guys are stuck, I don’t read many contemporaries but I recommend:

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Wonder by R.J Palacio

Wow, I’ve actually read a fair few contemporaries!

-Okay, say you don’t like contemporaries:

Blackfin Sky by Kat Ellis

The Killing Woods by Lucy Christopher

Cruel Summer by James Dawson (okay this is a dark contemporary but the others were fluffy)

The Rain by Virginia Bergin

– Talk to people!

Go onto Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr, Facebook or talk to even real life people and discuss the hardships of reading slumps! I will leave all my social media links down below so if you’re ever in a reading slump, just come and have a chat! I found it really helpful to talk to my Instagram friends and they recommended The DUFF to me and I love it!

Okay, there you have it! There are the tips I used to get me out of my reading slump! Hope they helped! More on the way too I promise!

Don’t let Netflix suck you in!

Talk to y’all soon!

Bye!

Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/38362004-caitlin

Twitter- @proudfangirl100

Instagram- _proudfangirl

Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

1 thought on “Reading Slumps!”

Leave a Reply

