The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger Review (No Spoilers)

Hey everybody! I’ve just recently finished The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger and thought I’d tell you my thoughts on it. So, without further ado, let’s go!

Normally I’ll start my reviews with a few comments about the cover of the book. However, I don’t really have much to say because my edition of the book was pretty simple and plain. I think I liked it though because it definitely made me feel like I was reading a classic, and that made me feel smart….

Anyway, enough about my intelligence, let’s talk about the characters. The main character, Holden, is definitely a rebellious little creature who seems to have a weird dislike for all adults. He calls everyone a phony and is constantly going on about how much he hates them. However, he seems to contradict himself over the whole phony issue because he goes around pretending to be someone he’s not (I can’t say much more or I’ll spoil it for you). I think Holden is a very relatable character to most teenagers and that’s why I think this book is so well loved. Unfortunately, I couldn’t relate that well to Holden- probably because I’m a goody-goody, yeah, sad. Despite this, I did find that some moments in the book made me laugh out loud, the many friends that Holden encounters really adds to the humorous side.

Now let’s talk about the writing style. For me, I found the writing style a little bit annoying at times.. Don’t hate me… Yeah, I just didn’t like all the repetition. Words like, ‘goddam’ and ‘phony’ and ‘depressed’ were repeated at least 6 times a page. Also, a lot of points would be made in the book and then they’d be rephrased all the time. That just got on my nerves. The beginning and end of the book also seemed a bit too abrupt for me and I didn’t think the book was fast-paced enough for me.

I do feel bad for not liking a classic too much, when I told people I was reading this I got loads of messages like ‘that’s my favourite book!’ and ‘you’ll love it!’, so I went into this book with really high expectations… And it didn’t turn out to be what I expected. Don’t get me wrong, everybody loves this book so you should definitely give it a go!

Thank you guys so much for reading this! Please comment down below telling me any books you’d like me to review or letting me know your views on The Catcher in the Rye, I’d love to know. Please like, subscribe and check out all my social media links down below.

Speak to you soon! Bye!

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5107.The_Catcher_in_the_Rye?from_search=true

My Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/38362004-caitlin

Twitter- @proudfangirl100

Instagram- proudfangirl100

Author: yourbestbookpal

I am a proud fangirl who loves to find new reads and share them with you all! I am open to any read but YA is definitely my favourite! Please feel free to talk to me and recommend me any books or ask for any recommendations, I'd love to see what you're up to!

Leave a Reply

